Cisco Instructors League Table

Okay this is just a bit of fun, but essentially the following is a list of Cisco instructors that I have rated based on materials I have personally seen/used and how engaging and easy it is for me to absorb their presentation of these materials (typically going on video presentations rather than workbooks etc)

Please post your ‘league table’ in the comments, it will be interesting to see other peoples ‘rankings’ on Cisco Instructors.

Any instructors name that does not appear on this list is purely because I have yet to personally see / review their material.

Also it has to be said, this is my own personal ranking and does not apply to everyone! Each instructor are brilliant but my table lists them in order for me based on the fore-mentioned criteria. Based on the same criteria, this may be different for you.

1) Jeremy Cioara from CBT Nuggets

  • He makes Cisco certification fun and very attractive! He’s the reason why I chose this path! He’s both my role model and my hero! All geeks should aspire to be like Jeremy! What really makes Jeremy special is the analogies he uses to explain technical concepts! I think everyone remembers the Star Trek Spock and WRED/QoS analogy!

2) Marko Milivojevic from IP Expert

  • I like his white board explanations and the fact he builds everything from the ground up in his vLectures (and his frequent moans about Adobe – Classic!)

3) Keith Barker formerly from INE

  • His video companion series are really engaging to watch. I like that he will show you more than one way of verifying things. Watching people on the console can sometimes be boring, but Keith always injects just enough humour to keep you watching more.

4) Anthony Sequeira from INE

  • His enthusiasm and passion for the subject really shines through. He’s also easy on the ears!

    5) Joe Astorino from IP Expert

    • To be fair, I’ve only seen one of his presentations which is a vLecture on IPV6. But I thought it was real good. Hope he does more!

    6) Kevin Wallace from Cisco

    • He is a really good instructor, however I do find that his material, though very well presented, leaves me with a number of unanswered questions. Maybe because his videos are designed to be very brief but to the point, more ideal to those nearer their exam date.

    7) Chris Bryant from Train Signal

    • Chris goes into real granular details which is a good thing. I used a Chris and Jeremy combo when tackling my CCNP and it went hand in hand. His FREE 3 minute YouTube videos are really good to watch as a quick refresher!

    8 ) Tyson Scott from IP Expert

    • I find Tyson’s blogs and emails very engaging and interesting to read.

    9) Scott Morris formerly from IP Expert / INE

    • He clearly knows his stuff, however I do find myself confused a lot of the times when I listen to his audio classes and his older BLS videos.
    2 Responses

    1. Alright Combatant101 this can be dangerous but if you insist there you go ! Here is my Top 10.

      1. Jeremy Cioara from CBT Nuggets
      (Although missing CCIE v4.0 topics but Jeremy surely is a legendry instructor)
      2. Petr Lapukhov, INE
      3. Brian Mcgahan, INE
      4. Brian Dennis, INE
      5. Narbik Kocharians, Micronics
      6. Marko Milivojevic from IP Expert
      7. Keith Barker formerly from INE
      8. Anthony Sequeira from INE
      9. Scott Morris formerly from IP Expert / INE
      10. Tyson Scott from IP Expert

      • Yes Petr Lapukhov is one smart cookie! The problem for me is that I’m just not bright enough to understand his explanations, they can be far too complicated and intimidating for me! I find it really hard to break it down and follow and most of the times I need clarifications…Once my IQ goes up a bit, I’m certain I can appreciate and follow his logic, but for now I need someone to really break it down for me!

        Has Petr done any video classes? Would love to see how he presents!

        The Two Brians and Narbik, I heard they are the bomb! But I have not seen them present so hence I’ve not included them on my list yet. (I have used Narbik’s workbook and they are excellent)

    Leave a Reply

